horizontal poultry nipples... do they leak?

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by forester7, Nov 21, 2016.

1. forester7

forester7 Just Hatched

Nov 21, 2016
    I have heard good things about mounting these on the sides of plastic buckets, but do they leak? Are they really a lot better then the vertical nipples mounted on the bottom of buckets?

Thanks in advance!

2. Zoomie

Zoomie Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 6, 2015
    Mora, NM USA
    Well, I have a water bucket set up with one of those, and personally I have not experienced so much as one drop of water coming out without the chickens activating the nipple. I've been using it for about 8 months. Since it's now very cold, I have the plastic bucket sitting on top of one of these: http://www.strombergschickens.com/product/universal-electric-fount-heater/fount-heaters and so far, so good. I installed the heater about two weeks ago, and if it was leaking, I for SURE would have seen water on top of the heater platform. No sign of it though.

It was pretty easy for my chickens to figure out how to use it, too. I've been very happy with it.

3. ChickNanny13

ChickNanny13 Overrun With Chickens

Jun 23, 2013
    Hilo, HI
    I got horizontal water nipples in a plastic container, LOVE it! Got package of 5 on Amazon (forget cost) put two on a small container for chicks & two on a bigger container for the "adults". So far no leaking. I put the chicks on them when they're about 2wks old, one batch took to it fast the second took awhile longer.

Forgot to mention what I learned, I drilled a hole close to the rim (top) with the lid on securely there's a vacuum & water won't come out. I left the lid loose but then they'd jump on top & secure the lid but not more dirty water :)

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Nov 24, 2016
  4. texsuze

texsuze Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 17, 2012