Horse cut her leg on fence wire~ how am I doing? ~pics~ any vets/vet techs out there?

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by Funky Feathers, Apr 15, 2012.

1. Funky Feathers

Funky Feathers former Fattie

Jan 15, 2009
    Maryland
    My Coop
    On Easter Sunday my horse cut her back (left) leg (under the ankle joint) open on fence wire. I have been treating it aggressively (but no stitches), and it looks to me like it is healing nicely, what do you all think? Is it healing ok, or should I get the vet out here? We are wayyy out in the sticks and that would be very expensive. I was a vet tech for 10 years (I have an AA Degree in Vet Tech). Here is what I have done: 1 tab Bute twice daily the first 4 days to reduce the joint swelling (it is gone now), hydrotherapy/soaking the foot/joint in hot water w/epsom salts. dry the leg, apply Bactroban (Mupirocin) antibiotic ointment, cover w/gauze pads, wrap w/vetwrap, then wrap the leg w/felt leg wrap, and injection of Penicillin 10cc IM daily. I kept her in her stall 24/7 until yesterday. She was limping badly on 4/8 but yesterday she ran around with no pain at all. Today she took it easy (she just went nuts yesterday from being cooped up). Here are the pics in order:
    4/8
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]
    note the swollen joint
    [​IMG]
    4/9
    [​IMG]
    4/11
    [​IMG]
    4/13
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]
    4/15
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. AMA Chick

AMA Chick Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 10, 2012
    Glasgow KY
    Looks good to me, you are doing all the thing I would do! Just keep a close eye for maggots;)

3. Horsefly

Horsefly Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 11, 2010
    Louisiana