Horse Loses Tooth!

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by ibpboo, Jun 1, 2008.

1. ibpboo

ibpboo Where Chickens Ride Horses

Jul 9, 2007
    always changing
    November 2007 3 1/2 years

[​IMG]

2. AngelzFyre

AngelzFyre Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 18, 2007
    Pell City, Alabama
    If he's just coming four years this year, it looks like a deciduous tooth that came out and the other permanent adult tooth should emerge soon. [​IMG]

3. ibpboo

Jul 9, 2007
    always changing
    Yes, and I was lucky enough to find it too! I also found one of her molars!

Last edited: Jun 2, 2008
  4. AngelzFyre

Sep 18, 2007
    Pell City, Alabama
    I was an equine vet tech for 20 yrs and have a big collection of horse teeth, mostly "wolf teeth" and the "caps" they shed from their back molars when they are 4-6. Occasionally we'd get to remove a troublesome tooth from an older horse and those were really interesting. A lot like trees with the growth rings.
    They are all shapes and sizes. Strange..yes! But I loved to collect the things and see how different they all formed on different breeds and ages. [​IMG]

5. Cara

Cara Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 30, 2007
    NM
    One of our horses only has one tooth in his upper jaw, and he's only 4!

6. ibpboo

Jul 9, 2007
    always changing
    I have a couple teeth from my first horse too. One of them encased in plastic, my dad did that for me. I have found two of this horse's teeth, but no more. I did look for them every time I noticed she was toothless.

7. AngelzFyre

Sep 18, 2007
    Pell City, Alabama
    When this horse you have now gets around 5 yrs old, feel in the back for the caps..they'll be a bit wider than the tooth itself and are the remainders of the deciduous teeth as the permanent teeth grow in. They hang on the top of the back teeth until the adult teeth are fully in and sometimes have to be removed by your vet or an equine dentist if they get too sharp or impair your horse's eating.