Horse People---Trimming horse's feet?

Willow's Meadow

Songster
9 Years
Apr 16, 2010
I have been riding for 5 years but don't have a horse. I jump, show and trail ride. When I looked in to getting chickens me and my family researched the prices just to get a idea of how much they would cost. Same with buying/owning a rabbit. We wanted to know estimatedly how much each type of animal would cost to own/take care of per month or year. I am trying to do the same with horses, as I am intrested in buying one possibly next summer. I realize that there is no way to tell how much a horse would cost since the horse could get sick/lame and the vet would charge a lot depending on what happened. However I was wondering.....how much does it cost you each time your farrier comes out and trims your horse's feet? I am hoping to not have to shoe the horse. I want to rescue a horse from a shelter/rescue center.

This really depends on where in the U.S. you are. When I was in California, it used to cost me about $100 for a set of shoes. In Colorado, that same set would cost me about $65. In Florida, it was nothing to pay upwards of $150, especially if I got it done at the show. A barefoot trim, done at home, was about $30 in Florida and about the same here in Alabama. My horses generally need trimmed every 4-6 weeks in the summer and every 7-8 weeks in the winter if I am not showing. I only shoe horses that I am working, i.e. cutting/reining/showing. Everybody else goes barefoot unless they have a medical reason to be shod.

The best way to get a feel for prices is to ask around at local barns and feed stores.

HTH

Rusty

Rusty's right - price is very regional. However, a good farrier will not soak you on price. so make sure you shop around. And if you don't like the job, find another one. Horse's feet are vital and a good farrier is worth their weight in gold!