Hot water heater thermostat

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by dave27889, Jan 23, 2009.

1. dave27889

dave27889 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 27, 2007
    Washington, NC
    I give up trying to use a hot water heater thermostat to control the heat in my incubator. It just does not work as well as the wafer type thermostat. I have done test more than 5 times now and there is a way to wide a range on the water heater type. It goes from a low of 98degrees to a high of 104degrees. I have tried three types of the water heater types and they all vary to much for me. My temp probe runs a high low memory and it is still a wide range on every water heater type I have tried. I worked as an electrician and heating and a?c tech and I worked on CNC machines. I know what I am doing and this type stinks. I sent off for two more wafer type today so that I could do more incubators to sell at the farmers market. I just could not put them out to sell the way they were. I know that people use the water heater type and that they use dimmer switches in homemade incubators. I just can't stand by something that varies like the WHT. I know people will argue about this but I stand by my findings. I would also like to say that using a dimmer switch is really asking for problems as they sense no heat at all so if the room the bator in gets hotter or colder the dimmer will not sense the differenc in the change. They are not designed for that. All the do is vary the amout of current going to the light buld. I would not want any expensive eggs in a unit like that. Remember this is just MY OPINION so don't get upset. I have been running a test for the past month on these type and it only took me two days to drop the dimmer switch.