Hot weather

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by purpledonna, Dec 30, 2009.

1. purpledonna

purpledonna Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 7, 2009
    Adelaide, AUSTRALIA
    I am relatively new to chicken keeping and am wondering if it is normal for my chickens to pant during very hot weather? I have also noticed one of them holding her wings out slightly. Only one of them is laying and she has missed 2 days(not in a row) in the last 10 days.... is this due to our hot summer? [​IMG]

2. The Chicken People

The Chicken People Chillin' With My Peeps

May 4, 2009
    Smithville, Mo
    Yes it is ! The one holding her wings out is trying to cool herself and they pant because they dont sweat. Offer lots of fresh cool water and maybe a fan. That wold help circulate air! I used a fan on my girls this last summer! Good luck!

3. gritsar

gritsar Cows, Chooks & Impys - OH MY!

Nov 9, 2007
    SW Arkansas
    Very normal. In addition to the advice that The Chicken People gave you, I am very careful about not doing anything to stir my chickens up during hot weather. I let them be quiet and lay around in the shade all day.

4. purpledonna

Nov 7, 2009
    Adelaide, AUSTRALIA
    Thanks guys!

I have been putting a frozen water bottle in their coop for them to sit near if they want and they have ample water available.

Good to hear that their behaviour is normal!

[​IMG]

5. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner True BYC Addict

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    Chickens can handle cold weather better than really hot. Probably has to do with that down coat they like to wear. You need to make sure they have shade and access to water. The panting and the wing spreading are ways to cool off.