Hot weather

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by jennifer0, May 26, 2010.

1. jennifer0

jennifer0 New Egg

May 24, 2010
    Hi I'm new at this so bear with me. The girls are not quite a year ( my first time with chickens) and it's very hot today. They have indoor/outdoor area( fenced) shade outside. Yet they are all in coop, it's hot. And they are nestling together and fluffing about in the litter ( using deep litter method). Are they ok? Or should I be doing something with them. I have not witnessed this behavior before.

Thanks for any suggestions:/

2. acid_chipmunk

acid_chipmunk Polish Silkies d'Uccles O my!

Mar 29, 2010
    They are probably dust bathing to try to cool off. Can you give them a bucket or tub of cool dirt to play in?

3. prancie

prancie Chillin' With My Peeps

May 29, 2009
    Alabama
    they are just dust bathing, it may not evern be heat related. Mine dust bathe in the coop every day.

4. jennifer0

jennifer0 New Egg

May 24, 2010
    :cool:Thanks , they seem fine now! I think that u r right just dust bathing as u said. thankx

5. CheerfulHeart2

CheerfulHeart2 Creative Problem Solver

Apr 8, 2009
    Phoenix, AZ
    [​IMG]