Housing or No-Housing?

Discussion in 'Geese' started by rmonge00, Jun 7, 2011.

1. rmonge00

rmonge00 Chillin' With My Peeps

I am thinking about getting geese and I need to start thinking about housing. I have heard geese need about 15 sq feet per bird, but then I have also heard of people building elaborate shelters and then the geese just sleeping outside. I am in a mild climate, so I am wondering what I can get away with. Should I just build a basic wind shelter or should I build a full-on predator-proof gigantic goose house or maybe just nothing at all? My property is 3 acres and they will get the run of most of it. It is all fenced in and is dog proof. We do have coyotes, raccoons, cougars, etc, in the surrounding forest, but I have never seen any except for a few raccoons. What are everybody's recommendations?

Thanks!!

Ryan

2. rmonge00

anyone...

3. ginormous chicken

ginormous chicken Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 18, 2011
    Elverta, California
    I'm new to the geese thing. I have 1 gander and will have another goose for his mate. I am planning on putting up a dogloo for the pair. They have the run of my acre 1/2. But a lot depends on whether they find the swimming pool or not ( my guess is yes) . I have a pool and it is ungated. I am hoping they will be happy with the kiddy pool, but we'll see. I have heard both. But to answer your questions, I am planning on the dog loo, the kiddie pool, the feed station and probably some fencing and if I need something more elaborate I will build later.