Housing pigs & other ques.

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by MyPerfectChicken, Sep 27, 2007.

1. MyPerfectChicken

MyPerfectChicken Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 19, 2007
    PA
    What would you use to house pigs?? [​IMG]

(Be warned, I can and will come up with more questions!)

2. Hotwings

Hotwings Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 27, 2007
    southwestern Michigan
    I am not really a pig expert, so I am gonna go by the set up Freebie's husband has. He have his sow and her litter in a converted horse stall in the barn, with a entryway to an outdoor pen. Some people have them in a outdoor pen with one of those pig shelters(a metal cover). Your outdoor enclosure fencing should be pretty strong as pigs can get out if it isn't. If a pig has access to the outdoors they won't foul their indoor bedding. They will root up any outdoor area pretty quick too. In hot weather it is very important to have a mudhole for them as pigs can't sweat. Pigs can drink out of a pig waterer or as I call them giant hamster bottles lol.

3. texasgirl

texasgirl Chillin' With My Peeps

May 27, 2007
    South Texas
    My friends hog pen is just t-posts and cattle panel and it has held up to feral hogs craziness for years. It only took a few hours to set up and was very affordable. You can pretty much make it any size or shape you want. Just stick some sort of shelter in there and they are set. He has a low spot dug out that he fills with water everyday for them to lay in.

It has held up to these goofy pigs for many years, I'm sure it would be just fine for some domestic pigs.
    http://s7.photobucket.com/albums/y2...ing Dec 2006/?action=view&current=LinPigs.jpg
    http://s7.photobucket.com/albums/y288/texasgirl005/Shooting Dec 2006/?action=view&current=Girls.jpg
    http://s7.photobucket.com/albums/y2... Dec 2006/?action=view&current=Girls2Good.jpg

Last edited: Sep 27, 2007
  4. greyfields

greyfields Overrun With Chickens

Mar 15, 2007
    Washington State