1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Hova Bator Genesis for Dummies

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by crazy4eggsJulie, Jan 12, 2011.

1. crazy4eggsJulie

crazy4eggsJulie Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 15, 2009
    I finally broke down and bought my first incubator-a Hova Bator Genesis 1588 model. They say that it is idiot proof, but I'm certain I can prove that claim wrong!
    I have NO experience with incubators and the entire concept is foreign to me.

I've combed the threads looking for info, but does anyone have any tips for this specific 'bator that they wish they would have known on their first hatch?
    The room temp where I plan to incubate is 68 degrees, will that be a problem?

I've read about people adding aquarium tubing to add water but my directions say there is a place to fill water without moving the turner like it's not a problem to open the 'bator to add water. What works best?

Also, they included no hydrometer and just say to keep the middle tray full until the last 2 days. Does that mean I don't need one? Dumb questions I know, but you'd think they'd say something like "hydrometer not included" or something like that to make beginners know what they need!

Thanks!

2. Baralak

Baralak Chillin' With My Peeps