Hovabator 2100 comes on Wednesday! :D

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by silkielover92, Jan 7, 2013.

1. silkielover92

silkielover92 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 30, 2011
    Eatonville Washington
    So my Hovabator comes on Wednesday, I've never used one before its a still air bator. So I have a few questions: question number 1: for Serama eggs what should the temperature be? question number 2: what should the humidity be? question number 3: how many times do you recommend I turn the eggs? I'm very new to this so any and all help will be appreciated!!!! thank you all so much! :)

Last edited: Jan 7, 2013
  2. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner True BYC Addict

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    question number 1: for Serama eggs what should the temperature be?

In a still air incubator the temperature will vary depending on where you are in the incubator. Warm air rises so the higher you go, the warmer it will be. With regular sized eggs the recommendation is 101.5 degrees Fahrenheit at the top of the eggs, but Serama eggs are pretty small compared to regular eggs. I’m kinda guessing but I’d drop that some, maybe to 100.5 degrees. What you are trying to do is make the center of the eggs somewhere pretty close to 99.5 degrees.

question number 2: what should the humidity be?

This one is even harder. You’ll get a lot of different recommendations because different things work for different ones of us. I generally shoot for the low 40’s during incubation and around 65% or higher during lockdown, but I’m sure others will tell you they use something different and I won’t argue with them. You’d think the conditions inside an incubator would be the same for all of us but from the posts I see on here, they obviously are not.

question number 3: how many times do you recommend I turn the eggs?