How and should I change ducklings feed... medicated to non medicated

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by AliciaDuckLady, Nov 5, 2013.

1. AliciaDuckLady

AliciaDuckLady Out Of The Brooder

Nov 3, 2013
    Brisbane, Australia
    Hello!

Having ducklings for the first time I want to do the right thing for them. We were given Kewpie Hi Spec Chick Mash from the produce we purchased them from. It is medicated, though on the product summary from the supplier states it is also suitable for ducks. Today I have started sprinkling brewers yeast on top of their feed. They are one week old. Three questions really...

Should I change their feed to non medicated game bird starter?

If so, how do I change the feed over without causing any digestion problems?

Should I be giving my sweets chick grit?

[​IMG]

Thank you!

2. DStewart PDX

DStewart PDX Chillin' With My Peeps

May 25, 2013
    Portland, Oregon
    I'm not that experienced with ducks, having just done one batch. A couple of things. I have never given any young birds medicated feed. I've also just switched feeds without any worry. They do need grit. I have never supplemented grit. I just let mine get it outside. If your ducklings aren't going outside, though, they need grit. Also, very young ducklings can drown, so make sure they can't access water that is very deep for them.

3. Going Quackers

Going Quackers Overrun With Chickens

May 24, 2011
    On, Canada
    There is some good info here

https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/750869/raising-and-caring-for-ducklings#post_10611711

Generally, medicated is not recommend, at one time completely against, nowadays there are different meds some okay, some still not, i have always raised mine either on a multi purpose(so like an all flock) or a duck starter, i don't even feed medicated to my chickens lol. That sticky link i gave you will answer your questions.

Cute little ones! [​IMG]

4. Amiga

Amiga Overrun with Runners Premium Member

Jan 3, 2010
    Southern New England