1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

How can I safely integrate a one day old chick with a one week old duckling and a two week old chick

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by zowie214, Jan 5, 2017.

1. zowie214

zowie214 Just Hatched

Jan 5, 2017
    Austin, Tx
    I'm new to raising chickens and ducks and I only have the three. The duckling and the older chick are best friends and hate being separated. I just had a new chick hatch and I have nowhere I can put her except with the big ones. The chick tries to approach them a lot but the bigger chick chases it away and pecks it, and the duck has pecked it before too, but I'm not sure if it was mean or not since she does it to the big chicken and me all the time, kind of sifting through the feathers. I always remove the smaller chick when this happens though. She has a little cave she can crawl into and they can't follow her but I have school tomorrow and I'm worried about leaving them alone. They have two food bowls and a large waterer so that is not a problem, but I'm concerned the bigger chick won't just let the little one go. I have no where else I can put her though. Please help me?

Last edited: Jan 5, 2017
  2. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    I would definitely NOT try to integrate the chick at her tender age. You leave them together and you will return to a dead day old chick. Make a little brooder for her and make sure she knows where food & water is & knows how to eat & drink. Give her a mirror so she thinks there is another chick. Also a stuffed toy she can cuddle with. Be sure to check her for pasty butt.

3. zowie214

zowie214 Just Hatched

Jan 5, 2017
    Austin, Tx