How close am I on my guesses?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by divegeeky, Feb 4, 2013.

1. divegeeky

divegeeky New Egg

Jan 28, 2013
    Hello,

First time poster here, but long time forum visitor. I started raising chickens primarily because of this site, and I am still very new to it. It is the most rewarding hobby I have ever had, and I will never go back.

So these are my ladies, 11 Hens.

My guesses are:
    2 X White Leghorns, couldn't get a picture of the second she is a little too fast for the camera settings.
    [​IMG]
    2x Australorps, not completely sure since the pictures online have a different looking comb. But, they are completely black the photos look a little brown but these girls are all black.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

2x Plymouth Rocks, I know one of my girls is bald I am using some of the aloe lotion to discourage the other hens from pecking at her.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

1x Buff Orpington
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

1x Speckled Sussex
    [​IMG]

1x Sicilian Buttercup
    [​IMG]

1x Ameraucana
    [​IMG]

1x I just can't tell she looks like a Rhode Island Red or New Hampshire red.
    [​IMG]

I did not raise any of these girls from chicks, I got them with the coop from Craigslist. I plan on building another coop, I have two already, and getting a couple more girls in March.

2. donrae

donrae Hopelessly Addicted Premium Member

Jun 18, 2010
    Southern Oregon
    I'd say you're pretty much right on!

The ameraucana is really an easter egger, and with a mostly straight comb you may not get green/blue eggs from her.

Your red hen is likely a production red, basically a generic red layer. Not a New Hamp, not quite a Rhode Island Red, but nice birds that lay like crazy.

Have you checked that bald bird for mites? That looks pretty extreme to me. I'd isolate her from the other birds and see if her feathers grow back.

3. Back2MyRoots

Back2MyRoots Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 3, 2012
    Auburn, Alabama
    x2