How Common is Egg Binding?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by TwoCrows, Apr 6, 2011.

1. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    I am new to chickens and recently joined on here. I have been reading a lot of threads here about hens getting egg bound and I am wondering how common is this? How many of you have had egg bound hens and is there a way to prevent it?

I have 4, 4 week old Australorp chicks and would hate to lose one of them in this fashion. Thanks, Leyla [​IMG]

2. hennyannie

hennyannie Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 12, 2011
    North Carolina
    I have had hens for a long time and have never had a problem with it that I know of. Everything that I have read says that if the hen has good quality feed, clean water and plenty of room for exercise you should not have this problem.

3. kla37

kla37 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 18, 2010
    Hillsborough, NC USA
    The thought of that really freaks me out too. [​IMG]

4. TwoCrows

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    Thanks for the reassurance! I have kept and raised quail for years and have never had an issue with their egg laying either. Thanks so much for your replies! I will also keep my fingers crossed [​IMG]

5. ladybuglives

ladybuglives Out Of The Brooder

Apr 30, 2010
    humboldt county