how do i best manage my rooster population?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by chic_a_lay, Jan 19, 2013.

1. chic_a_lay

chic_a_lay Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 12, 2011
    so what's the best way to manage my roosters?
    i'm still new to raising chickens and managing my flock.
    i tried to increase my flock last fall and for diversity i incubated some eggs i got from a friend.
    now, i've ended up with more new roosters than i did hens.
    i've watched these new roosters mature and they are very wild and too rough on my older hens.
    they seem to have some game bird in them somewhere and will constantly fight and chase my girls around and around each taking turns and running the hens ragged.
    very unlike my ol' dominecker, who is gentle and very selective and even protective of his favorites.
    i recently found a hen in total distress from their constant attention. she was for lack of a better description "crying" and trying to hide from them. i figured out what was happening and i finally got them all seperated and back to their neutral corners.
    so much for one big happy flock.
    so, now i know i have to cull at least couple of the newbies, but,
    i would like to keep a couple of the new guys since i do have quite a lot of hens (24).
    what's the best ratio of roosters to hens?
    what do i look for in keeping them?

• one has a lot of game bird in him and picks fights a lot, but, he's small like the hens.
    • another is extremely beautiful, but, is very large, very mean and very rough with my girls.
    • number three is solid white has a nice comb with a full body and very heavy for his size, he's less aggressive than the first two.
    • ...and the other i saved from an attack by an unrelated hen that nearly killed it when it was 3 days old and i nursed him back from death for weeks till his poor little head grew back together, since i saved it once, i really can't kill it now.