1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

How do I design the inside using DLM???

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Slim Chickens, Jul 2, 2011.

1. Slim Chickens

Slim Chickens Out Of The Brooder

Jul 1, 2011
    OK, I'm a newbie, brand frickin newbie. I'm working on my coop, starting with 6 Pullets that should be here in about 2 weeks. I'm trying to figure out the inside design of my coop using the deep litter method and can't seem to find what I'm looking for. I see bars for roosting straight across and some that are angled at about 45degrees with a screen under them.

If I do the angled roost, do I need DLM throughout the entire inside, or just under the roosts? Please help me help my new arriving chicks!

2. fireguy56

fireguy56 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 2, 2010
    Slidell, Louisiana
    Yes...Yes...Yes.... Chickens poop everywhere. The idea of the DLM is to absorbe the moisture and make cleaning the coop easier. Also aids in odor control by turning the litter periodically. A little lime or diatemacious earth sprinkled around every now and then helps as well. I went with a single roost, as they will fight to get to the highest spot as a rule. At least that is what I have learned. Also, if ya gonna do the DLM, be sure to put a 1"x 4" or 1" x 6" by door to keep litter in the coop. Check out my homepage showing examples of this. Hope this helps and good luck.
    Erik

3. MakNugget

MakNugget Chillin' With My Peeps

May 31, 2010
    Portland, OR