How do I replace my hens with chicks?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by iluvmichickens, Aug 26, 2010.

1. iluvmichickens

iluvmichickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 7, 2010
    Iowa
    Hi everyone! [​IMG]
    I have 7 hens that I will be replacing with chicks. I will be getting the chicks next week. This is my first time with chicks - yikes! Anyway, once the chicks are big enough I will be putting them in the chicken coop that now houses my hens. My concern is how to get the coop ready for the new chicks. As far as I know, my hens don't carry any disease or bugs but just to make sure I'd like to give everything a good clean. Any suggestions on how to do this? Or how long to let the coop sit empty before putting the chicks in there?
    Any input would be wonderful - thank you!!

2. math ace

math ace Overrun With Chickens

Dec 17, 2009
    Jacksonville, FL
    You need to clean walls, perches, ground, etc with chemicals. "SITTING" is not good enough.

I've read about many different products available for a "CLEAN OUT", but have not had to use any of them yet.
    Hopefully, somebody with personal experience will respond.

The only product I have had to use has been Adams flea and tick spray and dip. LOVE this stuff !

3. michickenwrangler

michickenwrangler To Finish Is To Win

Jun 8, 2008
    NE Michigan
    So you plan on culling or disposing of your hens before putting the chicks in there?

I would scrub EVERYTHING with a mild bleach solution and let it dry in the sun as best you could.

Just because your chickens aren't exhibiting any disease doesn't mean that they may not be carrying something. Adult chickens can deal with coccidiosis better than chicks can and also with some viruses. Raking the run and spreading it with DE will also help deal with fleas, mites and lice.

4. iluvmichickens

Jun 7, 2010
    Iowa