How do I rid my coop of mites?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by allendianne, Jan 7, 2013.

1. allendianne

allendianne New Egg

Jan 7, 2013
    I believe 2 of my 4 hens have scaly leg mites and just began treating them with a spray I picked up at Fleet Farm. I treated all the birds. The 2 that seem to have lifting scales, were year old free range birds when I acquired them, the other two we got as chicks. I am a new urban chicken farmer so am unsure as to how to treat my coop? We live in the cold far north so cleaning my 8X10 coop isnt easy because I cant exactly "clean" it by disinfecting it. My coop floor is bricked and I have about 6" of straw on the floor and I have some straw bales covering the drafty areas of the coop and they line the perimeter of the coop for insulating. Should I remove the straw? If so, how do I keep an otherwise uninsulated building warm enough for the chickens? I have 2 heat lamps that currently keep the temp 20-30 degrees. The chickens are all laying daily so dont seem to be stressed. As I treat their legs, I just want to be sure they arent reinfected.

2. willowbranchfarm

willowbranchfarm Chicken Boots

Oct 3, 2011
    Virginia
    My Coop
    The mites only live on their legs not in the coop so you need to worry about treating the coop.

3. Chick_In_The_Burbs

Chick_In_The_Burbs Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 26, 2010
    Western Washington