1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

how do i tell the chickies gender?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by :D chicken, Mar 29, 2009.

1. :D chicken

:D chicken Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 27, 2009
    i am new to the chicken world and i can only have girl chickies so i just wanted to know if there were early signs on baby chickies that can tell what gender they are i mean they are all supposed to be girls but does the sharpness of there claws have anything to do with it or does it make a diff if they have a little raised bump on the back of there leg like the rooster claw thingis i have no idea and i am just looking for advice post something here or send me a message or sumthing cuz i really want to know everything i can about chickens [​IMG] thanx 4 ur help!

[​IMG]

2. basicliving

basicliving Keepin' the sunny side up

Mar 20, 2008
    Shenandoah Valley, VA
    Hello [​IMG] Chicken [​IMG] Most female chickens have a little bump on the back of their leg - like where the spur on a rooster would be. How old are your chicks? If they are just a few weeks old, that little bump won't be an indicator of the sex.

Knowing the age of your chicks may help answer your question, but in general, depending on the breed of your chicks, they will be several weeks old before you know for sure. I know that stinks - we ALL want to know the sex of our chickens right away! But hang in there. And enjoy your chicks!

Penny

3. ticks

ticks Pheasant Obsessed

Apr 1, 2008
    The Sticks, Vermont
    How old are they?
    What breed?
    Rooster bump thingy? A spur?

4. azelgin

azelgin Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 18, 2008
    S.E. AZ