How do YOU choose which chicks to keep and which to sell?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by mandelaykay, Aug 10, 2011.

1. mandelaykay

mandelaykay Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 23, 2011
    Southern maine
    Here is the issue that I have. I have a hundred silkie eggs in the incubator. I have room for 3-4 more chickens. I am just getting into showing. I have two pairs right now. A white and a Splash. The splash pair are both show quality. The white pullet is missing a toenail otherwise she would be great and my white cockeral has some filling out to do. Do I keep the Splash pair and work on bbsp? Also how do you choose your chicks? I know to look for toe spacing. What else should I look for. How long before I can get an idea of what they will look like?
    I know that there is no way of knowing for sure until they are adults but I will need to sell some chicks right off because I do not have the space to have a ton of chicks. Suggestions anyone???[​IMG]

2. kera!

kera! Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 1, 2011
    Navajo County
    You should talk to George from Albeq, NM and maybe amber waves you can google either one of the and they might help you.. Georges silkies or amber waves silkies.. Good luck..

3. chicken farmer 1997

chicken farmer 1997 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 26, 2011
    lewis county ky
    i will buy some baby silkies off of you for a 1.50 each.

4. okiedrifter

okiedrifter Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 20, 2011
    might wanna wait to see how many hatch.....then decide which colors judges in your area like..and which you want to show...then sell the rest....

5. mandelaykay

mandelaykay Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 23, 2011
    Southern maine
    Ok thanks for the help everyone

6. trophywife

trophywife Out Of The Brooder

Jul 30, 2011
    baldwin
    I would be more than happy to take a silkie from you, I am getting 2 from InidgoEgg

Do you have pictures of the momma and poppa?