How do you get friendly with your hens?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by cyberchick, Jul 21, 2010.

1. cyberchick

cyberchick Out Of The Brooder

Jul 17, 2010
    Wirral UK
    I have recently purchased 4 hens a few days ago. 2 at POL and 2 younger. This is my first time and I don't know how to get the birds to trust me. I would like them to be able to be fed from the hand and not get scarred if I go to pick them up. Any advice is appreciated.

2. Ravishaw

Ravishaw Chillin' With My Peeps

May 7, 2010
    Mine are still pretty young. There are wynadottes and americaunas that are the most skittish, the barred rocks are pretty good and the Rhode Island reds are the best. There's one RIR that's a runty little thing that lets me pick her up.

From what others have said, the older they get the easier it is to pick up a chicken to handle it. Some are just going to be docile little puffballs though. Don't cry if you didn't get one though. They seem rare.

Familiarity plays a big role.

3. cyberchick

Jul 17, 2010
    Wirral UK
    I researched the breeds before I got them. I have a light sussex, barnevelda, buff orpington and bluebell. All the breeds are meant to be docile and easy to tame. Don't know if I just need to be patient or just start to handle them if they like it or not!

4. Yay Chicks!

Yay Chicks! Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 15, 2010
    Forest Grove, OR
    I raised mine from a week old, gently picking them up daily, feeding them a little by hand etc. but since they've been out in the run, some just have personalities that are either more friendly or aloof. Give them treats. Then I guarantee they will at least be very interested in you.

5. Yay Chicks!

Yay Chicks! Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 15, 2010
    Forest Grove, OR
    Oh, and move slowly around them [​IMG]

6. australorpchick

australorpchick Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 18, 2009
    Canyon Lake, TX