How do you keep your hens laying year round?

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by Naz223, Sep 24, 2015.

1. Naz223

Naz223 Out Of The Brooder

I'm new to raising chickens. My hens are almost 6 months and they just started laying. And they are doing a fantastic job! So proud of my ladies! Please share some of your secrets to keeping your girls laying year round and for years to come!

2. oldhenlikesdogs

oldhenlikesdogs Spring Dreaming Premium Member

Jul 16, 2015
    central Wisconsin
    You can't really make a chicken lay year round, hens stop and start laying for many reasons, a lot of them we can't control like weather. And you can't make them lay through a seasonal molt which your chickens will do next fall.

Best thing you can do to optimize laying is to provide good quality rations, keep stress down, provide protection from weather and predators, don't crowd them, and try to keep them healthy and happy.

3. nchls school

nchls school Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 22, 2015
    I have a heated coop so my hens lay year around. I also have shop light on a timer so the coop is summer all year too. My hens go broody often and that's OK with me. Going broody means a rest from egg laying and as a result I have a few older hens (one is 8 years old) that still lay eggs. It's just the wife and I and if we get an egg or two a day that is plenty. For he most part our birds are pets.

Last edited: Sep 24, 2015
  4. keesmom

keesmom Overrun With Chickens

Jul 28, 2008
    MA
    X 2. Weather can slow egg production, hot weather in particular. All hens molt around 18 months of age and when they molt they stop laying. As they age egg production will drop. There is no way to avoid that issue.

5. donrae

donrae Hopelessly Addicted Premium Member

Jun 18, 2010
    Southern Oregon
    Just to clarify, it's not the heat that keeps them laying, it's the light. Animals cycle on length of daylight, not temperature.