How do YOU like to raise your Cornish X's?

Mrs.ChickChick

Songster
10 Years
May 23, 2009
North central Illinois
This is my first time with Cornish Crosses, although I've had chickens for 5 years now. My question: what works for you raising these meat birds? Fermented feed? Do you raise them alongside your heritage breeds? Do you restrict their feed? Mine are about a week old now and are twice as big as their heritage breed brooder mates. Need to make some decisions soon if I'm going to separate the Cornish Crosses from the others. If I keep them together and restrict their feed wondering if it will delay the growth of the smaller heritage breed chicks?

Coralietg

Songster
9 Years
Apr 10, 2010
Opelousas, LA
I like fermenting the feed. The simplest reason is I've found there is so much less food waste from them flicking food everywhere!

Right now I have meat chickens in a tractor, and meat chickens free ranging with the layers. It's hard to compare now because the tractor ones are 8 weeks old and the free ranging are 4 weeks old. I like the protection the tractor offers, but I like the "freedom" the others have out and about. They still spend a lot of time sitting though.

cassie

Crowing
10 Years
Mar 19, 2009