1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

How do you pronounce....

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by wannabe_goatmom, Sep 20, 2009.

1. wannabe_goatmom

wannabe_goatmom Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 30, 2009
    Wellington KY
    Buff Orpington? I am new to chickens and would hate to be talking to an experienced chicken person and pronounce it wrong. I see a lot of people spelling it buff orph, does that mean it is pronounced orphington and not orpington?
    Also how about Cochin?
    I know Leghorn is leggern I saw that on another site.
    Also I hope I posted in the right section I wasn't sure on this one. [​IMG]

2. speckledhen

speckledhen Intentional Solitude Premium Member

There is no "H" in Orpington. It's pretty much like it's spelled:

Or- ping- tun with the emphasis on the Orp part.

(wonder how the 'h' got started? That would make it Or-fing-ton, which it isn't)

3. shelleyd2008

shelleyd2008 the bird is the word

Sep 14, 2008
    Adair Co., KY
    Yep OR-ping-ton

And CO-chin---'co' as in David Allen Coe and 'chin' as in the thing on the bottom of your face [​IMG]

4. wannabe_goatmom

Jul 30, 2009
    Wellington KY
    Thank you, I keep seeing it spelled with an H in different threads and wondered if I was pronouncing it wrong or if they were just spelling it wrong.
    Now I won't wonder if I'm saying it right when I'm talking to people. [​IMG]

5. shelleyd2008

shelleyd2008 the bird is the word

Sep 14, 2008
    Adair Co., KY
    Most people will still think you are saying it wrong, they don't know how to talk around here. [​IMG]