How Do You Tell the Difference Between Stanbridge Whites and Pekins?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Captain Cluck, Jan 10, 2011.

1. Captain Cluck

Captain Cluck Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 19, 2009
    Central Florida
    Can someone help me ID a drake in my little flock?

He is the White drake "Stanley" - I don't know how to tell the difference between a Stanbridge White and a Pekin. About all I have learned is that the Stanbridge's bill has a slight dish, but no mention of size, etc.

Here is a pic of him this past summer:

[​IMG]

BTW, the others are a Welsh Harlequin drake with a Swedish and 2 Magpie ducks. (at least I think they are Magpies or Anconas?)
    I want to get some matching ducks for Stanley, but need to know what he is first.

Thank you for your help.

2. iamcuriositycat

iamcuriositycat Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 30, 2009
    Charlotte, NC
    He looks pekin to me, but I'm no expert. Stanbridge Whites are developed from an all-white magpie, so if you got him from the same hatch as those magpies, there's a good chance that's what he is (a white magpie, which is not precisely a Stanbridge White, but often they are discussed interchangeably). If he came from pretty much anywhere else, I would say pekin. In any event, they are very pretty!

3. Captain Cluck

Captain Cluck Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 19, 2009
    Central Florida
    Thank you! I guess I will have to hatch some ducklings from him and one of the magpies and see what I get? Has anyone crossed a SW x Magpie or Pekin X Magpie? What did you get?
    I am still learning genetics.

4. gofasterstripe

gofasterstripe Chillin' With My Peeps