How does a first timer build confidence before processing?

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by hypnofrogstevie, May 15, 2009.

1. hypnofrogstevie

hypnofrogstevie chick magnet

Jul 12, 2007
    Newton NJ
    Next week I am helping a friends friend process chickens. I am kinda nervous about this since its my first time. How do you build up confidence before you do the deed?

2. acheeknmanbestfren

acheeknmanbestfren Out Of The Brooder

Mar 10, 2009
    We just went through out first processing a couple weeks ago. The first one was tough as I didn't know how much cutting would be necessary for the hen to bleed out quickly. After that, I would have one bleeding out as I plucked the previous one so when I was finished cleaning the next was ready to scald and start the process over again. Found I didn't "think" about the bird that way [​IMG]

It also helped that I think the Cornish-X are ugly poo factories [​IMG]

3. undermywings

undermywings chicken chaser

Mar 29, 2009
    California high desert
    Mentally brainwash yourself in the days before starting. Detach yourself and think of it as educational, learning and perfecting each step. Keep busy so you don't have lingering thoughts. It is a great idea to help your neighbor. Some people have suggested culling/processing each other's chickens...trade jobs...to make it easier. Good luck.

Last edited by a moderator: May 15, 2009
  4. undermywings

undermywings chicken chaser

Mar 29, 2009
    California high desert
    Quote:Too funny and so true!

5. jonathansenn

jonathansenn Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 16, 2009
    East Dublin, GA
    I always think about how good the meat taste and how well I am feeding my family. Chickens are not that bad cause their small. Large wild game is what got me. Although after a while you get numb and see it for what it really is ... a chore that needs to be done.

6. Big George

Big George Out Of The Brooder

Apr 19, 2009