1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

How does she know?????

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Pats Poultry, Jan 2, 2017.

1. Pats Poultry

Pats Poultry Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 17, 2016
    Colorful Colorado
    Hi All,
    Not sure if the is the correct forum to ask this. I am curious as to now how a hen knows that an egg or eggs that she is sitting on are fertile or does she? Also if she lays an egg a day for lets say 4 days and now she has four eggs that she is sitting on, how on earth do they all hatch at the same time???. Just curious, I only have three pullets and can understand that they might go broody, but if there was a rooster involved, I just do not understand now how all of that works and how do they know. As you can tell I am very new to this. Hope that all makes sense

2. TheTwoRoos

TheTwoRoos Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 25, 2015
    Actually she doesn't. She just sees an egg and immediate broody instincts kick in. Most broodies will take in just about nay egg given to them.

The eggs do not hatch at the same time. On hatching day several eggs may begin hatching, maybe minute sin between or a days time in between,some only a few hours. I have hatched chicks twice and never have I seen chicks hatch at the immediate time, it isn't impossible.. Although some chicks may not even hatch that day.

A lot of encouragement from chicks who hatched and the mothers calling is what also drives chicks to hatching sooner, rather then later.

3. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey