How hot is TOO HOT???????????

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by suenrob, Jun 1, 2008.

1. suenrob

suenrob Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 22, 2008
    Ft. Myers, FL
    This is my first year of raising chickens inFlorida. It is blazing hot today!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have 2 week old silkies and EE's in a coop I converted from a metal shed. I cut large windows in all 4 sides, and today I added a fan.

Well, I put a thermometer in a while ago and its 99 in there!!! The chicks don't seem to be panting and are eating and drinking.

My regular coop that houses all the adults is a wooden frame structure with roof and enclosed with chicken wire. It's a tiny bit cooler , 96. They free range in a fenced area, but usually hang out in the shade of the coop when its this hot.

So.......is florida too hot for them? (It's definetly too hot for me today!!)

2. suenrob

Jan 22, 2008
    Ft. Myers, FL
    I know there are a few folks from Fl out there, how are your chickens doing in this heat?

3. LynneP

LynneP Chillin' With My Peeps

Now I live up north, but I'm sure you can raise chicks happily in Florida if they're secure, shaded, well vented and if you refresh their water every few hours with generous amounts of cold stuff. It's nice to hear the concern in your voice!

Our big problem is cold!
    [​IMG]

4. ticks

ticks Pheasant Obsessed

Apr 1, 2008
    The Sticks, Vermont
    I one time went to check on my chicks and they al seemed happy and playing. When I looked at the thermometer it was higher than 120* F poor little girls. That was with the lamp. With out the lamp it stays about 80-85 in the summer.

Last edited: Jun 1, 2008
  5. Cassandra

Cassandra Ranger Rick

Oct 27, 2007
    Southwest Mississippi
    Our temperatures are probably comparable to yours. It is in the low to mid 90's. I have eleven chickens. Ranging in age from two months to just over a year old.