1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

How important is humidity the first few days? *New Questions*

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by ticks, Apr 22, 2009.

1. ticks

ticks Pheasant Obsessed

Apr 1, 2008
    The Sticks, Vermont
    I ordered my hygrometers which were shipped last wednesday (4/15) Miss_Jayne shipped out my turkey eggs monday (4/20) and the hygrometer hasn't gotten here and I think that the eggs will get here first. What do I do? Can I fill the tray with water until the hygrometer gets here?

Last edited: Apr 22, 2009
  2. gabrielle1976

gabrielle1976 Overrun With Chickens

Feb 21, 2009
    Columbia river gorge
    Im no expert but I would say a day or two with unknown humidity wont hurt much unless its a goose egg maybe or somthing. I think you should be ok.

3. ticks

ticks Pheasant Obsessed

Apr 1, 2008
    The Sticks, Vermont
    Quote:Turkey eggs. I don't know if that would make a difference.
    THank you for your input [​IMG]

4. skeeter9

skeeter9 Chillin' With My Peeps

Unless your humidity is extremely high, it won't make a difference if it's just for a few days. Just keep a moderate amount of humidity in the bator until you can get a reading.

Good luck with your eggs!

5. ticks

ticks Pheasant Obsessed

Apr 1, 2008
    The Sticks, Vermont
    Hey. My eggs just got here [​IMG]

6. ticks

ticks Pheasant Obsessed

Apr 1, 2008
    The Sticks, Vermont
    I have a couple more questions.
    One. How long should I wait from the time I got the eggs to put them in the bator?

Two. My bator cannot stay a 99, it goes to 97 or 100-101.

Three. If i'm just guessing on the humidity for the first few days how much water should I put in the bottom rings. (LG still air)

thanks.

7. LoveMyBirds

LoveMyBirds Chillin' With My Peeps