How in the world? Dogs!

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by lilcountry, May 24, 2008.

1. lilcountry

lilcountry Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 29, 2008
    Benson, NC
    Please if anyone has ever had a dog with two ticks on its eyelid please help me figure a way to get them off! One is like a seed tick and the other a deer tick I believe! I have to go get them some more medicine but Ive been working so much the vet is closed when I get off. Im going ASAP though! But in the meantime anyone have any ideas. I tried tweezers but he wont hold still and I think they are on there pretty good.

2. chickenannie

chickenannie Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 19, 2007
    Pennsylvania
    Don't those liquid drops for fleas and ticks make them drop off the animal? just a thought -- I'm no expert.

3. petlove

petlove Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 27, 2008
    Skiatook, OK
    I just received an emai from a friend on this very topic. Put liquid soap on a cotton ball and hold over tic for 15 to 30 secs, give or take, and the tics should come off stuck on the cotton ball. Hopefully your dog can hold still enough so soap won't get in his eye. Good luck. [​IMG]

4. lilcountry

Mar 29, 2008
    Benson, NC
    Thanks Im about to go try, just hand washing soap or like dish washing?

5. petlove

petlove Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 27, 2008
    Skiatook, OK
    Quote:The email didn't specify which. They are probably similar.

6. lilcountry

Mar 29, 2008
    Benson, NC
    of course we are out of cotton balls Im going to try toilet paper

7. lilcountry

Mar 29, 2008
    Benson, NC
    No it didnt work, he wouldnt really hold still either Ill call the vet and see if thye have any ideas. Thanks though, I hope thye are open...I think it would hurt bad with tweezers.

8. ibpboo

ibpboo Where Chickens Ride Horses

Jul 9, 2007
    always changing
    Oh, how awful. How about a hot match on the ticks butt? Don't know if it really works. Keep us posted.

9. lilcountry

Mar 29, 2008