1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    Not a member yet? join BYC here & then introduce yourself in our community forum here.

How little housing do geese really need?

Discussion in 'Geese' started by dealfinder500, Aug 1, 2014.

1. dealfinder500

dealfinder500 Chirping

Aug 12, 2013
    This is my first year with geese, so I'm learning!

I've got 3 12 week old Brown Africans, and they go in the chicken coop at night. But I also have 13 6 week old Brown Africans. Right now they are using a small coop that won't hold them much longer (it's meant for maybe 10 chickens). I got so many as I thought they'd sell well as goslings (the last batch sold very quickly), but there was little interest. So I'm hoping to sell some as Christmas Goose Dinners, and keep the rest to breed next year.

Anyway, I have been doing some reading, and on Mother Earth News I found a few articles that say all the geese need for housing is just a simple 3-sided structure that lets them get out of the rain when needed, and that they will for the most part be able to defend themselves against most predators.

Any one else have any experience with this?

2. flockman

flockman Songster

Nov 6, 2010
    Northern Indiana
    My adult geese have not had issues with predators but I lost a lot of goslings to a raccoon. If you have coyotes geese need to be locked up at night.

3. dealfinder500

dealfinder500 Chirping

Aug 12, 2013
    We have coyotes, though I haven't heard any in a while. Used to hear them all the time.

One that that really helps is that my neighbor raises coon dogs, so he's got a good 20 of them.

4. Miss Lydia

Miss Lydia Loving this country life Premium Member 8 Years