How long can an egg be out before it is no good to eat?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by mrsmaonaigh, Sep 16, 2010.

1. mrsmaonaigh

mrsmaonaigh Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 2, 2010
    SE Georgia
    Yes its me again. I'm still learning so I hope I don't seem to be asking too many questions. Since we found the hidden nest that had 7 eggs in it I need to know what to do. I'm guessing that the longest that they have been out there is 5 days. This is because 5 eggs were green and two were brown. Are these still edible? I do have a rooster so I'm worried about cracking them open to find a baby chick. I tried to do the candling thing and I see a large round shadow in the middle of most of them. One there looks like there may be a little more of a shadow. I don't really know what I'm looking for even with the help of some of the pictures online. So I guess the big question is to eat or not to eat?

2. mrsmaonaigh

mrsmaonaigh Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 2, 2010
    SE Georgia
    Anyone?

3. buzymom13

buzymom13 I run the Alien Chicken Asylum

Apr 20, 2010
    [​IMG]

I'm not an expert but this is what I know... You can do the float/sink test. Take a bowl of water. You put the egg in the water...if it sinks IT"S GOOD!!! If it sorta sinks (middle of the water) it's still good for like scrambled eggs...or baking....etc. If it floats...YUK!!! [​IMG]

The idea being that as an egg goes from fresh to bad it allows more air inside the shell and that's what makes it float...

Hope it helps!!! And BTW...no question is stupid because if it was then I'd be a moron.... [​IMG]

4. denim deb

denim deb Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 15, 2010
    I could be wrong because I'm still learning too, but from what I understand, the chicks don't start to develop until the momma starts to set. So, do the sink test. And, as long as they don't float, you should be good.

5. silkiechicken

silkiechicken Staff PhD Premium Member