How long can my chicks stay in the brooder

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by snapkrackelpop19, Aug 12, 2010.

1. snapkrackelpop19

snapkrackelpop19 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 12, 2010
    Seattle
    I've got three chicks, two copper marans and a rhode island red staying in a brooder thats about 30x20 inches and about 22 inches deep. How long will they be able to stay in the brooder until they need more room? I'm thinking 6 weeks however this is my first time raising chicks so I don't know how big they'll be at that age. Thanks!

2. whillo

whillo Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 6, 2009
    Willamette Valley
    You can check my page to see what I moved the chicks OUT of and INto at 2 weeks. They grow so fast. They were flying out of the little one (your size) after a week. They loved the horse trough, but they were way ready to move out of that at 6 weeks. We had to keep them in there for another 2 weeks. It got bad. I mean, they had a lot of time out in the yard because I felt so guilty, but they were starting to fight over the small roost and the others would sleep under and get pooped on all night. [​IMG] Best to have a place for them to go after a couple more weeks in the tub. [​IMG]

3. 7528620xs

7528620xs New Egg

Aug 5, 2010
    I'm thinking 6 weeks however this is my first time raising chicks so I don't know how big they'll be at that age. Thanks!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    links of london/links of london bracelets/links of london charms

4. azygous

azygous Flock Master

Dec 11, 2009
    Colorado Rockies
    Wait until you see how fast they grow and how active they are!

With just three chicks you may be able to get away with such a small brooder for three weeks, but beyond that, they'll be flying the coop, so to speak.