How long do I leave eggs? Pics now

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by flock-mama, Jun 11, 2008.

1. flock-mama

flock-mama Chillin' With My Peeps

May 30, 2008
    Bayfield colorado
    With one eggs hatched and 10 left, how long do I wait? 24 hours? The chick that has hatched is dry and chirpping, I want to move them to the coop nursery, but I know I have to leave them where they are at until the eggs that are going to hatch, do. My son guesses the one that hatched first must have been laid first. Would that be true?

Last edited: Jun 12, 2008
  2. lost

lost Chillin' With My Peeps

May 10, 2008
    ,nc
    I hatch 8 for like 6 days im new at this so what i done probly an't right.I took my eggs that didnt hatch to my ear and scratch it and i heard them chirp they started fri and the last one today.I have one i didnt hear anything so i reakon it didnt make it .thats what i done.Like i said im new just telling what i done good luck

3. flock-mama

May 30, 2008
    Bayfield colorado
    Was that in a bator or under a hen?

4. Mrs MIA

Mrs MIA Chick Magnet

Mar 3, 2008
    The chicks are ok in the incubator up to three days as they're finishing absorbing the yolk. If you don't have any more activity on the other eggs after 2-3 days, then it's possible the others aren't going to hatch, but it's too early now to know. Leave the one in the incubator until fully dry, at least, but it's peeping should help encourage the others to come out. [​IMG]

As for the first one hatched... well, I have Bobwhites that lay one egg a day, so I save then for one or two days before setting them in the incubator. I've found that the one most recently laid is the one that hatches first. And this has happend out of about 5 hatches now.

Last edited: Jun 11, 2008
  5. lost

lost Chillin' With My Peeps

May 10, 2008
    ,nc
    in my bator

6. MissPrissy

MissPrissy Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

May 7, 2007
    Forks, Virginia