How long do they have to be in the house?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by CheyAut, Nov 25, 2012.

1. CheyAut

CheyAut Out Of The Brooder

Jul 8, 2012
    Near Phoenix, Az
    I'm new to chickens ect, got our first ones this year. We had them free ranged during the day, in a pen at night. Unfortunately we've lately had a coyote problem (we had to rehome our nigerian dwarf goats d/t coyotes killing three, within feet of our pyrenean mastiff/leonberger barking at them (she stays out at night but couldn't get in the goat pen, the coyotes did from the other side of the fence...Didn't leave until my husband ran out there when he heard the dog barking, her head was through the cattle panel fence, and the pen was only 16ft wide, so they are BRAVE coyotes!). Well, one night after the goats had been gone for close to a week, we didn't put the dog out and they dug under the chicken pen and killed my 5 chickens, 2 turkeys, 4 guineas and 5 of my 7 ducks (and 1 duck died later that day from his injuries) :(

Anyhow, we are going to put chicken wire or soemthing under the entire chicken pen this week so the coyotes can't dig in, plus keep our dog out every night now. We did get another duck so our only survivor isn't alone. And a friend is giving me a turkey after we get the floor done (she got the turkey a couple years ago for her daughter to do 4H with, but daughter lost interest)

So of course I want to get more chickens. I LOVED my birds SO MUCH. I cried and cried :( Anyhow, previously we got pullets that were old enough to immediately do the pen at night, free range at day deal. The guineas, a turkey, and some of the ducks we got as young'ens but not SUPER young. What we did with them is put them in this huge rabbit hutch we have, whcih is inside the chicken pen (that's where the two ducks are currently living until we get the flood done this week).