1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

How long do we wait.....

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by chickenpiedpiper, Dec 17, 2008.

1. chickenpiedpiper

chickenpiedpiper Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 4, 2008
    New Durham NH
    Ok, I did something I have never done before. I let a broody little Japanese Hen keep her eggs. [​IMG] I estimate that it was around the first of the month that I decided to let her keep em. It was impulsive, and probably not a great idea, but well, its done. Now she is down from her original 6 to 3, (some ended up in the fridge by mistake?! YUCK) But now I am thinking I need to bring her and her treasures inside. Our coop is heated only 35*-45*, and full with 21 other adult birds, including 4 roosters.

Last night I had multiple dreams (nightmares really) of the chick hatching and running around while big birds attacked them. I have candeled the eggs, and cant see anything, so they must be pretty full (not that I am a champion candler, by ANY stretch) But I cant just sit here and wait for them to get munched.

If I bring her inside to a wire cage, does she need a brooder light? or will she keep the kids warm enough?

How long does she and they need to be seperate from everyone else?

Should I send her back out once the eggs hatch? or will she get upset?

Would I be better off to leave the cage in the coop? (tricky since the cage would have to be on the cold floor...other birds would get on it too..[​IMG])

I need any and ALL advice.....

Last edited: Dec 17, 2008
  2. emsevers

emsevers Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 30, 2008
    Carlton, OR
    I would like to know the answer to all this too. Good questions.

3. chickenpiedpiper

Aug 4, 2008
    New Durham NH