How long does it take for the girls to figure out the ramp?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by vjbakke, May 12, 2011.

1. vjbakke

vjbakke Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 21, 2011
    MN
    We have a ramp the goes down to the ground outside the coop door to their inclosed run. They will not go near it. We have been taking them out of the coop and placing them in the run. I know they need to learn to use the ramp to leave and enter the coop. We've tried treats, didn't really do much. They are 5 and 6 weeks old. Any tips? Just leave the door open to the ramp and let them figure it out? They loved being outside.

2. zaijian

zaijian New Egg

May 3, 2011
    I would say just let them figure it out. But I'm a newbie, so hopefully someone with more experience will help.

3. Dutchess

Dutchess Chillin' With My Peeps

I think they would eventually figure it out. Maybe you could "blaze the trail" with scratch? [​IMG]

4. Fred's Hens

Fred's Hens Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

They are afraid of just about everything at that age. At 14 weeks, they will own that ramp.
    Just be sure it is realistic in pitch and the cross bars are quite close together. Too steep and they'll just fly up and down. It should be two feet in length for every one foot in rise.

5. minichic

minichic Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 13, 2010
    Saratoga County, NY
    I put my girls out in their coop at 6 weeks. First time they saw the ramp they balked. But just as curiosity killed the cat, one of them took the plunge. The rest followed shortly thereafter. I screwed strips of wood across the ramp about every 6 inches to minimize the "sliding down the ramp" effect and that seemed to help. Now when I open the coop door in the morning, they pop right out.

6. Life is Good!

Life is Good! Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 14, 2011
    suburbia Chicagoland