How long until I get fertile eggs?

Discussion in 'Quail' started by Griffin Nest, Aug 8, 2011.

1. Griffin Nest

Griffin Nest Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 7, 2010
    California
    I have button quails and they lay one egg a day. I have 1 male and 2 females, and I just saw them mating this afternoon. The eggs haven't been fertile so far, but I think they will this time. How long will it take until the eggs she lays are fertile? I was thinking 2-3 days, but I'm new at this so I'm sorry if I ask stupid questions [​IMG]

2. shelleyd2008

shelleyd2008 the bird is the word

Sep 14, 2008
    Adair Co., KY
    If they are mating the eggs should be fertile.

3. Griffin Nest

Aug 7, 2010
    California
    Quote:Are you saying that they could already be fertile?

4. shelleyd2008

Sep 14, 2008
    Adair Co., KY
    Probably. Usually the males mature faster than the females in button quail, so they start breeding the hens before they are actually 'ready'. So they should be fertile from egg 1 if they've been with a male the entire time. The problem people have with early eggs is that they are usually smaller than normal so it either makes the chicks too small to survive or too big inside the shell to hatch on their own. But I've not noticed any fertility issues with first eggs on my buttons.

5. Griffin Nest

Aug 7, 2010
    California
    Well they are 11 months old and both of the females have been laying regular sized eggs for a while.

6. shelleyd2008

Sep 14, 2008
    Adair Co., KY
    How long have they been with the male?

7. Griffin Nest

Aug 7, 2010
    California
    all of their lives. they hatched from the same incubator and i've kept them all together ever since. i used to have two more males but I gave one away and the other was killed by my cat. the male I have is a silver i THINK. he seems interensted in one of my females only, and she's a wild type (normal colors)

8. shelleyd2008

Sep 14, 2008
    Adair Co., KY