1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

How long will coturnix quail lay reliably? +a few other questions.

Discussion in 'Quail' started by rachel, May 6, 2009.

1. rachel

rachel Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 11, 2007
    Phoenix, AZ
    I'm new to the quail part of the backyard flock addiction, but I'm already making plans for where I'm going to put my next 100 and I'm trying to hook others as well [​IMG] I keep getting some questions that I can't answer comfortably.

1. How long will they lay reliably, (5+ per week). I know fertility goes down after their first season, but many of the people I know aren't interested in hatching, only eating the eggs, so fertility wouldn't matter.

2. How long do they live? I keep seeing varying answers for this.

3. If I want to get friends some breeding trios/quads that are 4-5 weeks old, will the move keep the females from starting to lay at the normal 6-7 week onset?

4. It looks like Goldens and Browns are the only ones I could reliably visually sex. How accurate will I be at 4-5 weeks?

Thanks!

2. monarc23

monarc23 Coturnix Obsessed

Jul 18, 2008
    Indiana, Pennsylvania
    Quote:

3. rachel

Apr 11, 2007
    Phoenix, AZ
    Thanks Monarc!
    I meant for how many years will they lay. So do they decline like chickens? Do you think a 4 year old bird will still make an egg or two a week?

4. monarc23

Jul 18, 2008
    Indiana, Pennsylvania
    Quote:it's possible but if that's what you or your friends are going for, i'd say give the birds a break during the winter months so their bodies dont burn out. I do NOT have personal experience with older birds but from what I've read that seems to be the case if let to lay year round they will "burn out" but if allowed to rest they will last longer with egg production.

5. SandraMort