How long will this last?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Auroradream26, Feb 7, 2014.

1. Auroradream26

Auroradream26 Smothered in Feathers Premium Member

May 14, 2013
    Central, PA
    Sorry everyone. I didn't know weather to put this under raising chicks or feed but I figure everyone here is an expert in the chick department lol. I'm new to this and we're getting our first chicks here in a couple weeks (end of Feb) but I'm getting everything prepared now. I'm getting ready to order my first bag of feed but I I'd like to have an idea of how long it will last since nobody around here sells organic feed and I have to order it. We're hoping to get 10 chicks and the bag of chick starter is 40lbs. Will that be more than enough to last them until I need to switch them? This is the one we're looking into getting.

https://www.azurestandard.com/shop/product/14050/

Last edited: Feb 7, 2014
  2. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe Chicken Obsessed

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
    Yes that should be good. That should last them a couple months. The first few days they don't eat much and then they turn into pigs over then next week.
    If you can minimize waste, possibly by fermenting that will help a lot. They like to scratch their feed out and don't do so if it is moist. They do like to scratch shavings and things into it as well as defecate in it.

3. ten chicks

ten chicks Chillin' With My Peeps

May 9, 2013
    MB,Canada
    Order at least two bags,they can stay on the starter feed until bag is empty so you will not have any waste. This is the general guideline for feeding at different ages: 1-8 weeks - starter feed(they can stay on this longer than 8 weeks,so don't worry) 8-18 weeks grower/developer feed,18 weeks and older layer feed.