How many are pullets? RI Red, Ameraucana

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by bohemian.darling, Aug 14, 2011.

1. bohemian.darling

bohemian.darling Out Of The Brooder

May 9, 2011
    So I found homes for two cockerels this summer, much to my chagrin. Now I'm wondering how many of the next generation of three purportedly pre-sexed chicks I got from the same place are in fact pullets. I am still a total beginner, but the saddle feathers and deep red comb/wattle color coming in on two of them has me worried. The RI Red and Black Sex Link are 3 months old, the Ameraucana is a week younger. Nobody is crowing yet, and my last two were by 3 months, but they were different breeds. So how many of these are pullets? (Of course the BSL is, but of the RI Red and Am....)

[​IMG] RI Red

[​IMG] RI Red top down

[​IMG] The trio- RI Red, Ameraucana and Black Sex Link

[​IMG] RI Red and Ameraucana

[​IMG] Red again

So, Red and Ameraucana .... boys or girls?

2. XilverAngel

XilverAngel Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 28, 2009
    I'm not a complete professional, but i would say you have two lovely pullets there. [​IMG] The RIR and Ameraucana both look like girls to me. Their combs aren't too big and you don't see much tail feathers, so i'd say you got some nice looking girls! [​IMG] congrats!

3. bohemian.darling

May 9, 2011
    Thanks, Xilver! I was really paranoid a few weeks ago as I was scrambling for rooster homes for my first two, and I think after being in denial about those two being boys, I'm now in denial about any of the others being girls. Hopefully after a few more people chime in I will get my confidence back, and in a few months get some EGGS [​IMG]

4. 202roosterlane

202roosterlane Happy Hen on a Harley

Feb 24, 2011
    Central Arkansas
    I would say they are all female.

5. XilverAngel

XilverAngel Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 28, 2009