1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

How many days??

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by gachick88, Aug 26, 2016.

1. gachick88

gachick88 Just Hatched

Aug 23, 2016
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

Hello everyone! I am new to this site. My name is Brittany and I am from South Georgia where it stays hot and humid in the Summer! Thank you for taking your time to read my post. I am very new to incubating although I am making progress. I bought a forced air incubator with egg turner a while back and after 72 hours, I had it at a consistent 55% humidity and 99.5-100.0 temp. I have done lots of research lately, now that I want to start incubating seriously. I used to hobby candle all of my eggs as I collected them just to get a general idea of what I was looking at. I wish I knew then what I know now bc some looked amazing, I just had no idea. Anyway, I would love to be a great hatcher one day but since I am new I had to start somewhere, right? At the time of collecting, I didn't know enough about veins, blood rings, or even that it took 21-25 days to hatch. I just knew they were fertilized and left them for my hen to take care of. Sounded like a good idea at the time :/ My hen was broody and sat on them for what seemed like forever. The temps fluctuated and some probably got too hot. One day I decided that some of them didn't look right after candling so I figured I would crack one open and take a look at what went wrong. That's when I quickly learned what an egg bomb was. They are disgusting...especially when they pop in your face [​IMG] ! Anyway, ABOUT 1.5 weeks ago our other hen laid 3 more and Miss Amy sat on them again. I decided it was time to get ready to incubate (for real). I wanted to collect the next eggs exactly on day 1 so there would be no question. W