how many roosters can peacefully co-exist?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by NuthatchKnollChickens, Jun 2, 2008.

1. NuthatchKnollChickens

NuthatchKnollChickens Out Of The Brooder

Apr 23, 2008
    Ithaca, NY
    I have five Speckled Sussex (two months old) and six Buff Orpingtons (6 weeks old), and it turns out two of the Speckled Sussex are roosters. I'm hoping they will be able to work out a pecking order so everyone can co-exist but this is my first time with chickens and I'm a bit apprehensive. I'm sure this is dependent on the roos individual personalities, but do others have experience with two roosters in a small flock? Is there some minimum ratio of hens to roosters that it takes to keep everyone happy?

2. DTchickens

DTchickens Overrun With Chickens

Mar 23, 2008
    Bailey, Mississippi.
    usually if roosters grow up together. they will be fine, Unless they are some type of Gamefowl... Of course though any roosters will occasionally fight over hens/food etc. wont know until you try honestly

3. rooster-red

rooster-red Here comes the Rooster

Jun 10, 2007
    Douglasville GA
    I have 3 roosters, 2 coexist really well, the 3rd one would kill the other 2 on sight, so it really depends on the individual rooster.

4. Henrietta23

Henrietta23 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 20, 2007
    Eastern CT
    I only have 2 young roos but they do NOT get along. I only have two hens. I'm hoping when my pullets are larger (there are 11 of them) there will be enough hens for the two roos to share and get along. In my case that's a big part of it. Not enough hens to go around so they fight over them. I have to keep the roos separated at all times. They are very serious about harming each other. [​IMG]

5. Chickenaddict

Chickenaddict Chillin' With My Peeps

May 19, 2008
    East Bethel MN