how much common sense does a duck have ?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by someguyhere, Oct 18, 2016.

1. someguyhere

someguyhere Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 6, 2016
    I know animals have instincts but how about common sense ? lol. I ask because Im watching my ducks today and when I let them out this morning it was only 29 degrees and they made a mad dash to the pond and have been there for most of the morning ! Im not really sure they have even gotten out I only assume they have. I have been conditioning them for winter since I got them kinda late in the year. they are 7 weeks old but have been outside full time since about 3 and a half weeks. they have all their "teenage" feathers already and all preen themselves very well. I worry a little that as its gets colder they will stay in that darn pond. am I over worried ? they will get out if they get to cold right ? lol sorry Im a newbie at this

2. chickens really

chickens really Chicken Obsessed

We have snow...Temp here yesterday was a balmy 2 degrees Celsius ....I filled the pool...Cold tap water...They swam and had a Duck pool party....I think yours are fine...

Cheers!

1 person likes this.
  3. buff goose guy

buff goose guy Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 9, 2014
    Mississippi Y'all
    Unless they have full molted and have the water resistant feathers, I would not let them get into water that is too cold because they are not full insolated yet. They might be just fine but if they start shaking I would bring them inside and warm them up so that they don't get hypothermia or anything.

1 person likes this.
  4. someguyhere

someguyhere Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 6, 2016
    they are still out there loving life lol. so i guess i wont worry about it. they have their water resistant feathers and dont ever seem to be wet, just to me it seems a bit cold but they are not shivering or look un comfortable. Il just keep an eye on them and the weather. thanks for the replies :)

5. Orca5094