How much do you handle chicks?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by csaylorchickens, Mar 23, 2015.

1. csaylorchickens

csaylorchickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 8, 2015
    California
    My Coop
    I really want friendly chicks [​IMG][​IMG] and I know handling them is good to get used to people. How do you recommend going about making a bond with them? Cats, dogs, horse, ect is it the same with chicks? They run from me right now. Just looking for ways to make a bond [​IMG]

2. chickienewbie88

chickienewbie88 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 22, 2015
    West Virginia
    Im curious too!!

3. LeanneP

LeanneP Out Of The Brooder

Jul 19, 2014
    Kenansville, NC
    My oldest flock is only 9 months old, so I'm relatively new with chickens. I handled all of them equally (and often) as babies, but there are a few that still run away and some that can't wait to get my attention. It is said that some breeds are more flighty than others, but I have more than one of each breed and one is lovey-dovey and the other runs away screaming like I pinch her when no one is looking! So, I think that a lot depends on the particular bird's personality as to how much they want to be handled when they grow up.

4. chickengeorgeto

chickengeorgeto Overrun With Chickens

Dec 25, 2012
    Your chicks naturally run away from anything that is 100s of times their size, with two grasping hands, and that is hovering over them like a hungry chicken hawk. I have often thought that we resemble one of H. G. Well's "War of the Worlds" aliens, when we're trying to catch a baby chick or a chicken of any kind. And the more that you traumatize them in this manner the harder that they will become to approach and the less friendly they will be when your chicks reach adulthood..

5. csaylorchickens

Mar 8, 2015
    California
    My Coop