how much does it cost to build a chicken coop?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by kardar2, Jan 9, 2014.

1. kardar2

kardar2 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 24, 2013
    Jones valley area
    Well I got $300 in to mine. LOL.I built A 4'X 6' SO I could have up to 6 chickens. Well I am a woodworker and love to make stuff out of wood. Hopefully I will get done in the next couple of weeks.:)

Last edited: Jan 9, 2014
  2. chfite

chfite Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 7, 2011
    Taylors, SC
    I would figure at least $300 to have something worth having. If you can score pallets and such, the more the better. The hardware and metal fabric are the most expensive parts.

Chris

3. seann

seann Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 30, 2013
    I'm building my first and I'm newbie in woodwork. I already spent $150ish in material:
    -plywood $30
    -wood $40
    -hardware cloth $40
    -screws $15
    -staples $3
    -sand $6 (may need more)
    -water sealant $15
    -etc (hinges, bricks) $8
    -others (may need to buy tin snips and more bricks and lock/bolts)

Not including tax.
    Not including nails and a wooden crib which I used.

4. Jakoda

Jakoda Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 12, 2012
    Old Lyme CT
    well we went a little overboard..I had an existing 12 x 18 + barn which we renovated part of the inside for the chickens. added a huge run (12x 20+) with a roof, so I'd say a more than a thousand bucks.

My then barn got demolished in storm sandy, was able to salvage a portion to get the chickens thru the winter. Luckily my insurance paid 6 grand to replace all we lost there, so we rebuilt this summer ..It was a real pain to do, but I modified alot of things, gave the chickens more inside room. and ended up with this.. Probably out of the insurance money we used a good 4 grand to rebuild ..

[​IMG]