How much grapefruit seed extract do I give my hen?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by chickenman98, Jun 20, 2011.

1. chickenman98

chickenman98 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 27, 2010
    Eastern Oklahoma
    I was wondering what the dosage was for chickens.
    Thanks

2. feliciamckee

feliciamckee Chillin' With My Peeps

May 17, 2011
    J Bro
    I use GSE for everything! Is the kind you have concentrated? Most of it is. A little goes a long way. I am new to taking care of chickens but I know GSE works really well as an anti biotic. When I take it in juice, I usually put about 3 drops because I can't stand the taste. I plan on giving some to my rooster and will probably put about 10 drops in about a quart of water, but maybe someone else on here can be more specific.

3. earthmama24

earthmama24 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 20, 2011
    Charleston
    For healthy chickens, I use about 30 drops to 1 gallon of water. If you have a sick chicken that you are dosing individually, I would do 1-2 drops in about 1/4 cup of water and squirt it down her throat, 3 times a day. I have also been known to just stick straight GSE in one of our silkie roosters mouths, as he sounded congested and I was afraid he was coming down with the coryza, but he is next to impossible to catch, so it was a one time deal. Next day he was fine and he never lost a beat.

That's what's working to keep my chickies healthy, you may find that you don't need quite that much or you may need more.

Also, on a side note, I discovered that they make GSE in pill form and it is awesome!!! That is what I am currently taking to get over a bad flu and it it working wonders without the bad taste.

4. jippolit

jippolit New Egg

Mar 21, 2012
    Hi from Costa Rica,