How much pecking is ok?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by chickling, Mar 25, 2009.

1. chickling

chickling New Egg

Mar 25, 2009
    Sandy, UT
    Just got home from the feed store with 2 Ameracaunas, 2 Gold Sex-Link, 2 Silver-Laced Wyandottes. Oh, so cute! We're all in love. [​IMG] But one of the Wyandottes is pecking all the others, pulling feathers, just being a bully. [​IMG] I know some pecking is normal, but how much is ok before we oughta separate her? (Can you tell I've never done this before?)

2. crazyhen

crazyhen Overrun With Chickens

Aug 26, 2008
    mtns of ,NC.
    How old are they? I have raised 6 orps and now BR's and Orps. I have had no picking. First use a box big enough to give the less aggressive ones room to get away from the others. I had my 6 each time in a 2x 4 box for the first 4 weeks then moved up to a larger box. Do they have chick food 24/7? they should . I think if I got a picker I would remove right away and give a more protein rich diet. Also maybe some vitamins. Also check the temp. If it is too warm they will pick. Jean

3. chickling

chickling New Egg

Mar 25, 2009
    Sandy, UT
    They're a few days old I think, totally fuzzy still. The box is 22" x 25" (microwave oven box), plenty big enough to move away if they would, but they just sit there and take it. We've only been home for an hour, and yes they have food and water available. Temp is 95 degrees.

They were huddling under the lamp, but now they're spreading out and doing different things. Bossy was dragging one of the others by the foot!

4. gritsar

gritsar Cows, Chooks & Impys - OH MY!

Nov 9, 2007
    SW Arkansas
    Do you have them under a white heat lamp or red? Alot of times the red heat bulb will calm down an hyper pecking chick.
    If they are not drawing blood, I'd be inclined to let them sort it out. They have to sort out the pecking order.

5. pascopol

pascopol Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 6, 2009
    Tampa Bay