How much should I interact with my chicks to keep them used to me?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by monarc23, Jan 20, 2009.

1. monarc23

monarc23 Coturnix Obsessed

Jul 18, 2008
    Indiana, Pennsylvania
    This is my FIRST time hatching chicken chicks sucessfully. I have two so far with more on the way in just days. So my question is, how much can I handle and pet the chicks without over-doing it or stressing them out? i want them as tame as the chicks we got from a breeder when i was a kid were. They grew up and would follow me everywhere and were just great birds...I'd like that again and just don't want to over do the socilization.

What do you all do to help socilize your chicks and how often?

2. william9792

william9792 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 23, 2008
    graham, nc
    handle them much as you can, and give them treats when they get a little age ( two or three weeks old) that is the fastest way for the to be your friends, got to have trust from them

3. blueskylen

blueskylen Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 3, 2008
    WV
    hi,
    i really didn't pick mine up when they were chicks and pet them, but i wish now that I had . they will let me gently stroke them a couple of times and then jump away. they are all just short of a year old now, and will follow me and come close, but are not lap chickens. I think that if you picked them up and petted them each for a couple of minutes a day, that they would let you continue that as they grow up.

4. monarc23

Jul 18, 2008
    Indiana, Pennsylvania
    Quote:thanks [​IMG] I barely remember how much I handled them as a kid, but im sure i did a lot! [​IMG] So 2-3 weeks i can start giving treats, can yogurt be introduced then too or no...and even if so what other sorts of treats can i offer? Mealworms? fruits? veggies? [​IMG]

5. monarc23

Jul 18, 2008
    Indiana, Pennsylvania